The BC Society of Rheumatologists (BCSR) is the professional organization that represents rheumatologists in the Province of British Columbia and strives to promote the highest standards of arthritis care through physician leadership.

The Society’s mission is to represent rheumatologists in BC and advance the scientific, educational, professional interests of arthritis care in the province.

The Society’s goals are to advance the integrity and honour of the medical profession, and to advocate for the highest quality of health care for the people of BC that suffer from rheumatologic diseases.

The organization was established on July 31, 1991 by Dr. Stanley Fenton, Dr. Milton Baker, Dr. Graham Reid and Dr. Barry Koehler.

Currently, the BCSR represents approximately 50 rheumatologists across the Province in communities including Vancouver, Victoria, Nanaimo, Kamloops, Kelowna, and Cranbrook.

The BCSR collaborates closely with a number of professional groups including:

  • Doctors of BC (formerly The BC Medical Association)
  • The University of British Columbia Division of Rheumatology
  • The Arthritis Society of BC
  • The Canadian Rheumatology Association (CRA)
  • The BC Ministry of Health and BC Pharmacare

The BSCR periodically publishes a member newsletter that includes highlights of Society activities, important updates on government and Pharmacare issues in BC as well as current news pertaining to rheumatology in the Province.

Newsletters commonly feature topics including:

  • Meeting news
  • Developments with fee and billing changes
  • Updates on access to Pharmacare medications
  • Innovation in arthritis care and practice

Executive Committee

Dr. Jason Kur
Dr. Jason Kur, President
Dr. John P. Wade
Dr. John Wade, Treasurer
Dr. Megan Hiltz
Dr. Megan Hiltz, Member-at-Large
Dr. Carson Chin
Dr. Carson Chin, Vice President
Vacant, Secretary
Dr. Mitchell Uh
Dr. Mitchell Uh, Member-at-Large
Dr. Angela How, Member- at-Large

Past Presidents

  • 1991–1993 Stan Fenton
  • 1993–1995 Graham Reid
  • 1995–1997 David O’Hanlon
  • 1997–2000 Alan York
  • 2000–2002 James Dunne
  • 2002–2006 Milton Baker
  • 2006–2010 John Kelsall
  • 2010–Present Jason Kur

BCSR Logo Marque